Skip to content

Placing the Arts at the Center of Learning

Since its launch in 1997, McCallum Theatre Education (formerly known as McCallum Theatre Institute) — the education department of McCallum Theatre — has served nearly one million students, educators and community members with performances and arts education experiences. In close partnership with local education agencies, McCallum makes the arts available and accessible to youth in the area through its dynamic education programs.

In addition, projects like Palm Desert Choreography Festival and Open Call Talent Project serve as powerful vehicles for developing artists and present exciting and affordable performances open to the general public. McCallum Theatre Education seeks to enhance the role of the arts by inspiring greater awareness of their educational, cognitive, emotional and spiritual power.

By encouraging an active and experiential study of the arts, McCallum Theatre Education advances the belief that all human beings are inherently creative. The education programs developed by the McCallum are designed to build on that creativity by equipping individuals with the skills necessary for a life-long engagement with the arts and an understanding of their essential contribution to enlightened citizenship.

Partners In Education

These organizations and individuals have contributed
financially to McCallum Theatre Education:

Cmdr. Allen Donor Advised Fund
Diane Anderson
Irene W. & Guy L. Anderson Children’s Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Steven J. Appel
Mr. and Mrs. Robert D. Appelbaum
Robert W. Archer and Charles Hilliar
Mr. and Mrs. Jack Area
Barbara Arnstein
The Coeta and Donald Barker Foundation
Marge Barry
Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Barton
Ms. Betty A. Battista
“Babette “”Babs”” Bay”
Mrs. Joy Bellan
Rebecca Benaroya
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Berk
Ms. Phoebe Biscow-Brown
Mr. and Mrs. George Bovis
Ms. Cardriner Bowden
Roger Bredahl and Marvin Meyers
Mrs. Nancy Breighner
Rosemarie and Dean L. Buntrock
Fred Burres & Andrew Chikos
Burrtec Waste & Recycling Services
Mrs. Laverne Burgess
Betty and Jordan Bushman
California Presenters
Jean C. Carrus
Kay Chester
City of La Quinta
City of Palm Desert
Mr. and Mrs. Gary Coakley
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Cunningham
Keith and Donna Jean Darby
Mrs. Jo Ann Davis
Mrs. Lynn DeKock
Margie DeKock
Neal and Diane Denkler
The Desert Sun Publishing Co.
Frank Dimick and Patricia Andrews
Mr. and Mrs. Clifford Dobler
Mr. and Mrs. Norman A. Dodge
Mr. William Duncan
Ms. Jane B. L. Emison and Mr. Mike Tierney
Mr. Harlan Eyre
Mr. and Mrs. James Forgette
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas D. French
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Freund
Frank and Alvera Gaeta
Helene Galen
Susan and Warren Gelman
Sandra and Mitch Gershenfeld
Hal and Diane Gershowitz
Mr. Ted Giatas
Mrs. George Goldstein (Dorothy)
Mr. and Mrs. James T. Goldstein
Mr. Russell Grant
Mrs. Arline E. Greenblatt
Mr. and Mrs. Alan I. Greene
Mr. and Mrs. Ronald W. Gregoire
Ms. Carole R. Haller
Marcella Halter
Kay F. Hanson
Ms. Nancy G. Harris
Mrs. Helen P. Herman
Mr. and Mrs. John Herrell
Mr. and Mrs. William S. Hopson
James R. Houston
Ms. Roberta Peters Jones
Mr. and Mrs. Larry Katzen
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Kelly
Mr. Ken Kelly and Mr. Tim Hubick
Mrs. Louise Kermode
Mr. Mervin A. Kolb
Mrs. Katharine Lamb
Mr. and Mrs. Dale C. D. Landon
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas M. Lane
The Larsen Foundation


Mr. Jeff Larson
Mrs. Madeleine Larson
Ms. Lisa Lefkovitz
Mrs. Mary V. Lester
Mr. and Mrs. Mark B. Levey
Ed Levine & Carol Lazetera
Mr. and Mrs. Howard Levy
Mr. and Mrs. James Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Ken Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Robert H. Lilac
Mr. and Mrs. Roger Low
Dr. and Mrs. Paul T. Lubar
Jerry and Barbara Lundberg
Ms. Francesca Luzuriaga
Mrs. Marilyn Lynch
Donna MacMillan
Mr. and Mrs. Judd Malkin
Mr. Barry Manilow
Harold Matzner
Mr. and Mrs. Richard McBride
Ms. JoAnn McGrath
Mrs. Louise A. McSweeney
Lowell Milken Family Foundation
Cookie Miller
Mrs. Sarah R. Milmet
Dr. and Mrs. Myron Mintz
Ms. Olga Morales and Mr. Allen Burstiner
Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Nevil
Mr. and Mrs. Mike J. Neuman
Mr. and Mrs. John Nocita
Mr. and Mrs. Gene O’Dell
Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Oliver
Cydney and Bill Osterman
Barbara and Robert Paget
Mrs. Patricia Paige
Palm Springs Friends of Philharmonic
Mr. George Papas
Mrs. Elise M. Pasetta
Mr. Dave Patino
Ms. Bonnie D. Pauker
Michael & Cecelia Peroni
Mrs. and Mr. Kathleen G. Place
Barbara M. Platt
Linda and Manny Rider
Rella and Monroe Rifkin
Tim and Carol Rochford
Mrs. Jan L. Salta|
Mr. and Mrs. Alan H. Salzman
Mr. and Mrs. Marty Schechtman
Mr. and Mrs. Donald Schliessmann
Mr. and Mrs. Douglas J. Schmalz
Ms. Constance L. Sharp
Mary Silver
Mrs. Sarah Simonds
Spotlight 29 Casino
Sprint Foundation
Sally St. John
Mrs. Nancy G. Stone
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Stonehill
Mrs. Roberta R. Susskind
Ms. Mary R. Swink
Mr. and Mrs. Jerald D. Terry
Mrs. Connie TirschwellSherwyn Turbow
Variety – The Children’s Charity of the Desert
Mr. Jack Verderame
Jean Baur Viereck
Mrs. Barbara Waddell
Mr. and Mrs. John C. Weakley
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Webb, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Clive Weightman
Wells Fargo
Diane and Gerald Wendel
Mr. and Mrs. Ronald E. Whitaker
Chip M. Wickett
Mr. and Mrs. Murray M. Wine
Mr. Richard Woolley
Frank and Mary Ann Xavier